7pm on Saturday, July 24!

Due to Covid-19 the Awards Reception will be EXCLUSIVELY virtual.
Tune in to the Awards, available for FREE on GFF’s Homepage

The 2021 Gimli Film Festival Awards Reception offers an opportunity for GFF and our partners to recognize some of the outstanding films, filmmakers and actors we get to experience as part of our Festival. The Awards Reception also allows us to recognize volunteers who contribute to GFF and those professionals achieving great things in the film industry at large. Tune in to find out which film was voted “Best of Fest” and more!

2021 Awards:

  1. Alda Award, Winner: Anne Wheeler
  2. Jack Clements’ ‘Livin’ the Dream’ Award, Winner: Wayne Sheldon
  3. 1st annual Betty Schwartz Memorial Volunteer Achievement Award, sponsored by Dave & Diane Johnston, Winners: Lisa Martin & Carol Magnusson
  4. Best Manitoba Director Award, sponsored by the Director’s Guild of Canada, Winner: Eric Peterson for Big Things
  5. On the Rise Award, sponsored by IATSE 856, Winner: Yasmine Mathurin for One of Ours
  6. Indigenous Spirit Award, sponsored by APTN, Winner: A.W. Hopkins for Indian Road Trip
  7. Best Manitoba Short Film – Jury Award, sponsored by Manitoba Film & Music, Winner: Christina Hajjar for Don’t Forget the Water
  8. Best Manitoba Short Film – Audience Choice Award, sponsored by Eagle Vision, Winners: Ryan Steel for Portage Place Mall (With Love) and Christina Hajjar for Don’t Forget the Water
  9. Best Canadian Short Film Award, sponsored by HUB International Insurance Brokers, Winner: Emmanuelle Lacombe for The Golden Age 
  10. Best International Short Film Award, Winner: Shirin Qaredaqi for Mr and Mrs Doe
  11. Best Performance Awards, sponsored by ACTRA, Winners: Svitlana Martynenko as “Young Woman” in Tides and Sam Singer for “Sam Geller” in Big Things
  12. Best Canadian Feature Film Award, sponsored by Telefilm, Winners: Aisling Chin-Yee & Chase Joynt for No Ordinary Man 
  13. Best of Fest – Audience Choice Award, sponsored by Winnipeg Free Press, Winner: Maureen Bharoocha for Golden Arm
  14. Grand Jury Prize, Winner: Alexandre Rockwell for Sweet Thing

The Alda Award:

The “Alda” (wave in Old Norse) is a signature award offered annually by the Gimli Film Festival. It was established to honour filmmakers, actors and producers who have distinguished themselves in the film industry in Canada and the circumpolar countries around the world. There have been seven honourees to date including Sturla Gunnarsson, Tantoo Cardinal, Norma Bailey, Wendy Crewson, Guy Maddin and Friðrik Thor Fridriksson. The Alda Award trophy was created by Ione Thorkalson, an award winning glass artist from Manitoba whose work is featured in galleries around the world.

In 2021, GFF will be recognizing Anne Wheeler who is an acclaimed Canadian film and television writer, producer, and director. From 1975 to 1985 she worked for the NFB where she made her first feature film, A War Story (1981), which was about her father, Ben Wheeler and his time as a doctor in a P.O.W. camp during World War II. The war is a common theme in her work and she revisited it later in her films Bye Bye Blues (1989) and The War Between Us (1995). Her first non-NFB film was Loyalties in 1986.In addition to her films, Wheeler has directed episodes of Anne with an E, Private Eyes, Strange Empire, The Romeo Section, The Guard, This Is Wonderland, Da Vinci’s Inquest, and Cold Squad. Wheeler has been nominated four times for the Genie Award for Best Achievement in Direction for her films Loyalties (1986), Cowboys Don’t Cry (1988), Bye Bye Blues (1989), and Suddenly Naked (2001). Her 1998 television miniseries, The Sleep Room, won Gemini awards for best television movie and best direction.Wheeler was made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1995. In 2012 she received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. Wheeler has also been awarded seven honorary doctorates and is the first woman to be given a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Directors Guild of Canada.

Anne Wheeler, 2021 Alda Award Recipient