And the Nominees Are… | GFF 2020 Award Nominees!

Gled Vid Investment Company LogoGFF has the pleasure today of announcing the Long List of Award Nominees for the film’s taking part in the 20th annual edition of the Festival!  Thanks to Joy Wood and Gled Vid Investment for their generous sponsorship of GFF’s Awards Presentations for 2020!

Leading in nominations is critically acclaimed Canadian film The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open, which took home three awards at the Canadian Screen Awards earlier this year.  Also garnering a number of nominations are local heroes Madison Thomas (Ruthless Souls) and Milos Mitrovic and Fabian Velasco (Tapeworm).

Audiences are also reminded to please vote for GFF’s Audience Choice Award, this year sponsored by Recycle Everywhere!  Every feature film at GFF 2020 is eligible, so after watching a film on GFF On Demand, please look below the video container and rank the film out of 5, with 5 being outstanding.

Congratulations to all of these deserving filmmakers, who are truly all winners!


DGC MB logo 2018Best Manitoba Director Award, sponsored by the Directors Guild of Canada
• Erika MacPherson (6 Tons of Steel: Building Bloody Saturday)
• Madison Thomas (Ruthless Souls)
• Milos Mitrovic & Fabian Velasco (Tapeworm)

On the Rise Award: Best Canadian Director to Watch, sponsored by IATSE 856
• Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers & Kathleen Hepburn (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)
• Jeff Barnaby (Blood Quantum)
• Jean-Francois Lesage (Prayer for a Lost Mitten)
• Fabian Velasco & Milos Mitrovic (Tapeworm)
• Matthew Rankin (The Twentieth Century)

Indigenous Spirit Award, sponsored by APTN
Blood Quantum by Jeff Barnaby
The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open by Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers & Kathleen Hepburn
Freedom Road: Women / Ikwewag by Angelina McLeod
małni – towards the ocean, towards the shore by Sky Hopinka
Nolan: Here Nor There by Wilfred Dieter
Now is the Time by Christopher Auchter

ACTRA Manitoba logoAchievement in Acting Awards, sponsored by ACTRA Manitoba (2 Awards to be presented)
• Alex Ateah (Tapeworm)
• Eugene Baffoe (Ruthless Souls)
• Darcy Fehr (Wolves)
• Mary Galloway (Ruthless Souls)
• Micaela Lozano (Hot Dog Guy)
• Milos Mitrovic (Tapeworm)

Best MB Short Film Jury Prize
Be Free From Myself to Be Myself by Grace Han
Bible Camp Memories by Damien Ferland
Northstarling by Daniel Gerson & Trevor Mowchun

Best Canadian Short Film Jury Prize
Acadiana by Guillaume Fournier, Samuel Matteau, Yannick Nolin
Clebs by Halima Ouardiri
No Crying at the Dinner Table by Carol Nguyen
Now is the Time by Christopher Auchter

Best International Short Film Jury Prize
And then the Bear by Agnès Patron
Girl and Body by Charlotte Mars
Mthunzi by Tebogo Malebogo
Umbilical by Danski Tang

Grand Jury Prize, sponsored by Al Shell
Anbessa by Mo Scarpelli
A White, White Day by Hlynur Pálmason
The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open by Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers & Kathleen Hepburn
Bulletproof by Todd Chandler
The Earth is as Blue as an Orange by Iryna Tsilyk
Echo by Rúnar Rúnarsson
Prayer for a Lost Mitten by Jean-François Lesage
The Wolf House by Joaquin Cociña & Cristóbal León